Home How to Guide Remove “Press Ctrl + Alt + Delete” to Unlock Message on Lock...

Remove “Press Ctrl + Alt + Delete” to Unlock Message on Lock screen

Today, when booting up my Windows 10 computer, instead of showing the regular lock screen where the system asks to swipe up to bring the logins screen, it showed Press Ctrl+ Alt + Delete to unlock message on the lock screen. While you can easily get to the Login Screen by pressing Ctrl + AltĀ  + Delete, it is an extra step that not everyone wants to take for every login. If you want to remove this message from your Windows 10 Lock screen. Here is how to do it.

fix Press Ctrl Alt Delete to Unlock Screen Windows 10

Remove “Press Ctrl + Alt + Delete” to Unlock Message on the Lock screen

  1. After you log in to your computer, do the following.
  2. Press Windows Key + R to open the Run dialog box.
  3. In the Run box, type net netplwiz and press OK to open the user account window.
  4. In the User Account window, open the Users tab.
  5. At the bottom of the window, uncheck ” Requires User to press Ctrl + Alt + Delete” box under Secure sign in section.
  6. Click on Apply and OK to save the changes.

That’s it. Now press the Windows Key + L to lock the screen. And the “Press Ctrl + Alt + Delete” message should be removed.

Why you see the Press Ctrl + Alt + Delete message?

If you read the description for the Secure Sign in option, it says:

” For added security, you can require the user to press Ctrl + Alt + delete before signing in. This guarantees that the authentic Windows sign-in screen appears, protecting the system from programs that mimic a sign in to retrieve password info”.

As the message states, it is a security feature that helps the users to identify the real Windows login screen from the fake one that the try to mimic the login screen to retrieve the user login password.

If you don’t mind pressing the shortcut key every time you log in, I would recommend you to keep the Secure Sign in option enabled. If not, you can follow the steps in this article to disable it.

Do let us know if you like the extra security feature offered by Windows or if you prefer to keep it disabled in the comments below.

RELATED STORIES YOU MAY LIKE:

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here